Meet the team

The PANDA Team comprises of clinical experts in a number of fields and clinical trial support staff.

Professor Simon Stanworth

Co-chief investigator

Responsible for strategic leadership of the programme.

Simon is a Consultant Haematologist for NHS Blood & Transplant at the John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford, UK.

Email: simon.stanworth@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Professor Marian Knight

Co-chief investigator

Programme management expert.

Marian is a NIHR Professor of Maternal and Child Population Health.

Email: marian.knight@npeu.ox.ac.uk

Our investigators

Professor David Churchill

Co-investigator

Obstetrics lead for the programme.

David is a Consultant Obstetrician (Maternal & Fetal Medicine) at The Royal Wolverhampton Hospital NHS Trust and Professor of Obstetrics at the University of Wolverhampton.

Email: david.churchill1@nhs.net

Dr Fabiana Lorencatto

Co-investigator

Behavioural science expert for the programme.

Fabiana is the Research Lead for Centre for Behaviour Change at University College London.

Email: f.lorencatto@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Elise Crayton

Co-investigator

Behavioural science expert for the programme.

Elise is a Research Fellow at University College London.

Email: e.crayton@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Helen Spiby

Co-investigator

Helen is a Professor of Midwifery at the University of Nottingham.

Email: Helen.Spiby@nottingham.ac.uk

Dr Chris Gale

Co-investigator

Neonatology expert for the programme.

Chris is a Reader in Neonatal Medicine and honorary Consultant Neonatologist at Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust.

Email: christopher.gale@imperial.ac.uk

Professor Andrew Farmer

Co-investigator

Primary care physician and behavioural science expert for the programme.

Andrew is a Professor of General Practice.

Email: andrew.farmer@phc.ox.ac.uk

Dr Oliver Rivero-Arias

Co-investigator

Health economics lead for the programme.

Oliver is an Associate Professor of Health Economics - Senior Health Economist at The National Perinatal Epidemiology Unit.

Email: oliver.rivero@npeu.ox.ac.uk

Dr Noemi Roy

Co-investigator

Oral iron supplementation expert for the programme.

Noemi is a Locum Consultant Haematologist at Oxford University Hospitals Foundation Trust, Radcliffe Department of Medicine Oxford University.

Email: Noemi.Roy@ouh.nhs.uk

Alison Deary

Co-investigator

NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit lead for the programme.

Alison is Head of Clinical Operations for the NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit based in Cambridge.

Email: alison.deary@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Helen Thomas

Co-investigator

Lead medical statistician for the programme.

Helen is Head of Clinical Trial Statistics for the NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit based in Bristol.

Email: helen.thomas@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Joanne Murray

Co-investigator

Patient and Public Involvement Representative for the programme.

Email: panda@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Stephanie Lax

Co-investigator

Patient and Public Involvement Representative for the programme.

Email: panda@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Our operational team

Samaher Sweity

Trial Manager

Samaher is a Trial Manager for the NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit based in Oxford.

Email: samaher.sweity@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Claire Dyer

Clinical Operations Manager

Claire is a Clinical Operations Manager for the NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit based in Oxford.

Email: claire.dyer@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Renate Hodge

Clinical Data Services Manager

Renate is a Senior Data Manager for the NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit based in Cambridge.

Email: renate.hodge@nhsbt.nhs.uk

Jo Mullings

Senior Data Manager

Jo is a Senior Data Manager for the NHSBT Clinical Trials Unit based in Cambridge.

Email: joanne.mullings@nhsbt.nhs.uk